PSG and Porto Clinch UEFA Champions League Last 16 Spots, Newcastle Bows Out!

Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) and Porto secured their places in the UEFA Champions League last 16, while Newcastle United exited the competition after a 2-1 defeat at home to AC Milan. PSG advanced as runners-up in Group F after a 1-1 draw against Borussia Dortmund, while Milan’s comeback against Newcastle wasn’t enough to overtake PSG on goal difference.

PSG – Porto Secured Thir Place in Champions League

Newcastle, needing a win and hoping for PSG to drop points to stay in the Champions League, took the lead with an impressive Joelinton goal. However, Christian Pulisic equalized for AC Milan, and substitute Samuel Chukwueze scored the decisive goal in the 84th minute.

Despite falling behind to a goal from Karim Adeyemi, PSG secured the point they needed with Warren Zaire-Emery’s equalizer. PSG finished level on points with Milan but progressed due to a superior head-to-head goal difference.

Image Credits: UEFA

Porto secured their place in the last 16 with a 5-3 victory over Shakhtar Donetsk, advancing from Group H alongside Barcelona. Galeno’s early goal set Porto on the path to victory, with goals from Danylo Sikan, Mehdi Taremi, Pepe, and Francisco Conceicao sealing the win.

Also Read: How AC Milan eliminated Newcastle from the Champions League

Royal Antwerp claimed a memorable 3-2 win over Barcelona, as George Ilenikhena scored a stoppage-time winner. Manchester City won 3-2 at Red Star Belgrade, becoming the second English club to win all six group-stage games. Micah Hamilton and Oscar Bobb scored their first goals for City, while Kalvin Phillips netted a late penalty.

Defending champions City had already secured top spot in Group G, with RB Leipzig finishing as runners-up after a 2-1 home win against Young Boys. Atletico Madrid secured first place in Group E with a 2-0 victory over Lazio, courtesy of goals from Antoine Griezmann and Samuel Lino.

Celtic ended a 15-game winless streak in the group stage with a 2-1 victory over Feyenoord, as Gustaf Lagerbielke scored a late header. Luis Palma’s penalty and Yankuba Minteh’s equalizer set the stage for Lagerbielke’s decisive goal.